You tell me.
|Seconds left. Was it a penalty?|
Two things about it, from my vantage point right above the play, in the corner halfway up the stadium: First, Neill's challenge was pretty clumsy, throwing himself splay-legged at Grosso as he moved deep into the box after turning Bresciano in the corner, who fell down on the play. Grosso legitimately went down, falling over Neill. But was it a penalty? Referee Medina Cantalejo of Spain, who sent off Materazzi for a marginal foul earlier, pointed with no hesitation to the spot.
Second thing: A murmur went round the seating area when they posted three minutes of stoppage time -- I was sure it would be two, off my watch. And the critical play happened with 20 seconds left in that three minutes. Standing there watching it, an unbelievable sequence capped by Totti, out of form Totti, converting the penalty.
Say one thing. The refereeing at this tournament, from Merk to Poll to Ivanov last night and now this, is right now the headline story.