Blown Call, Play On
It won't make the Marlies or their fans feel much better on a historic night for the franchise that turned bitterly sour. Still, good on Dave Andrews for acknowledging an error.
The AHL president sent out a release this morning saying that the winning goal in overtime last night between the Marlies and the Norfolk Admirals scored by Norfolk defenceman Mike Kotska was, in fact, illegal and shouldn't have counted.
But without any remedy to replay the game, the result stands, 1-0 Norfolk, and the series continues, with the Admirals leading three games to none.
On the play, Kostka shot the puck into the Marlies zone. It hit a stanchion along the side glass and bounced into the net, with Toronto goalie Ben Scrivens caught behind the goal.
However, at least one Norfolk player was well inside the blueline on the play, which should have resulted in a delayed offside. By rule, the puck could not legally have entered the net in any way because of the delayed offside, even if the player cleared the blueline before the puck entered the goal.
Andrews confirmed the "rules interpretation error."
It is believed the Marlies will not protest the call or the game result.